Superb Turkey Meatloaf

I got home from work this afternoon with no idea what I was going to do with the package of ground turkey that I had defrosted.  My fridge was almost bare but I did find some leftover quinoa, a lone carrot, and some wilted parsley.

Whenever I’ve attempted a turkey meatloaf in the past, I’ve ended up with a flavorless, dense, gray lump.  Not too appetizing. And how do I make meatloaf without my FODMAP ingredients like onions and ketchup?   Somehow, this combination produced a tasty, moist loaf.  I’m guessing the quinoa had something to do with it.

1 19 oz package ground turkey
1 medium egg
1 cup cooked quinoa
3/4 cup chopped scallion greens
1 grated carrot
1/2 cup minced parsley
1 tablespoon garlic oil
1 teaspoon garlic tabasco sauce
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1/2 tablespoon kosher salt

Worcestershire and sugar for glaze.

Preheat oven to 350  Combine all the ingredients and mix thoroughly.  Line a rimmed baking sheet with foil and spray with vegetable oil.  Mound the meat mixture on the foil and shape into a loaf. Combine about 2 tablespoons of Worcestershire with a couple of teaspoons of sugar. Paint the mixture all over the loaf.  This makes the loaf a nice brown color.  Bake for 35 – 45 minutes until cooked through.  Take it out of the oven and let it sit for 10 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

