Fire roasted tomatoes

Elimination Diet

I have a few recipes that call for canned “fire roasted” tomatoes.  Since I’m a little leery of canned tomatoes right now, I made my own “fire roasted” and froze them.

4 lbs roma tomatoes

Preheat the broiler and line a rimmed baking sheet with foil.  Dump the tomatoes onto the sheet and  place under the broiler for 5 – 10 minutes until the tomatoes start to char and split open.  Flip the tomatoes over and broil for another 5 – 10 minutes.  The tomatoes should be soft and bubbly and blackened in spots.  That’s the “fire-roasted” part.  Let them cool until you can handle them.

At this point you can pack the whole tomatoes into plastic tubs and freeze them or you can do like I do and roughly chop them in the food processor and then freeze them.  I got 3 pints of chopped fire roasted tomatoes out of 4 lbs.

Fire roasted tomatoes

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Turkey Potato Stew with Indian Spices | FODMAP diet recipes

  2. Pingback: Vaguely Indian Fish and Tomato Curry – a low #FODMAP recipe | FODMAP diet recipes

  3. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after
    I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say excellent blog!

Leave a Reply

