Cornell Chicken

Elimination diet

I found this recipe on Patsy Catsos’ site.  I buy chicken leg quarters at my local farmer’s market.  If I don’t marinate or brine them before grilling, they can be kind of tough though still very tasty.  Normally, I do a very spicy Jamaican jerk style marinade with a sweet and spicy bbq sauce; all loaded with fodmaps of course.  I made this for supper last night and it was very good, but I think I might try boosting the flavors next time by adding some other ingredients.  Maybe some ginger and hot red pepper flakes.  Or fennel seed and lemon zest.

Cornell Chicken Barbecue Sauce

1 egg
1 cup canola oil
1 pint cider vinegar
1 tablespoon salt
1 tablespoon Bell’s poultry seasoning
1 teaspoon pepper
6 ounces dry vermouth

Beat the egg, then add remaining ingredients and stir until combined. Marinate chicken with the sauce in the refrigerator all day before grilling. Brush chicken with marinade every few minutes during cooking. Makes enough for 20 chicken pieces. Discard marinade after use; do not reuse.

Leave a Reply

