Sweet Potato Hummus

I did not mourn giving up beans for the low FODMAP diet.  I’ve never been particularly fond of bean dishes, with one major exception: chickpeas – particularly hummus.  I LOVE hummus.  Unfortunately, even a little bit of hummus gives  me problems.  Recently, I came across a recipe on a vegan recipe blog for a hummus based on sweet potatoes … RAW sweet potatoes.  I made a variation of it to make it low FODMAP and found that I liked it a lot.  The texture, though, was a bit too raw for me.  So, I made the same recipe, only this time with some cooked sweet potato.  I like the texture, but the flavor is not as bright as the raw.  In both cases, the hummus improved after a day resting in the fridge.

According to Kate Scarlatta’s handy chart, sweet potatoes are a mild source of polyols, so be cautious about how much you eat.

1 large or two small sweet potatoes, about 10 – 12 ounces, peeled and chopped
1/4 cup roasted sesame tahini
2 tablespoons garlic oil
grated zest and squeezed juice of 1 whole lemon
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
salt to taste

For the raw version, pile all ingredients in your food processor and process until smooth.  Adjust seasonings to taste.

For the cooked version, boil the sweet potato chunks until tender, about 10-12 minutes. Drain and cool before proceeding as before.  I found that for the cooked version, I needed to add a couple tablespoons of water to get the consistency that I wanted.

Serve with wheat free crackers, chips, or pita.

Leave a Reply

