Spiced Ground Beef Patties with Quinoa and Toasted Almonds

I have a ridged grill pan that sits across two burners on my stove; I cooked the patties at one end of the pan. At the other, I grilled some baby zucchini that I had halved and tossed with olive oil.

1 cup quinoa
1/2 cup toasted, slivered almonds

1 lb. ground beef
1/2 cup finely chopped scallion greens
3 teaspoons olive oil or garlic oil
1 heaping teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
3/4 teaspoon EACH black pepper, cinnamon, ground coriander, and ground cumin

Combine the meat and the next 8 ingredients. Mix well and refrigerate for at least on hour before cooking.  When ready to cook, prepare the quinoa according to package directions.  Divide the meat into 4 portions and form into patties. Grill or fry the patties until done to your liking.  Serve alongside quinoa and garnish with toasted almonds.

One response

  1. I made this tonight and it was SO good! My husband liked it too. First, he doesn’t have to eat low fodmap, I do. And second, he doesn’t like quinoa much but he liked it with this fabulous beef patty! Thanks for posting it!

Leave a Reply

