Green No-Bean Hummus

I have been on a continuing quest to find a delicious low FODMAP hummus recipe. Earlier, I had found one made with sweet potatoes; I liked the flavor but was not enamored of the texture. Also, sweet potatoes should only be eaten in limited amounts on a low FODMAP diet. Recently, I spotted a recipe that used raw zucchini and thought that might work well.  I just whipped this up and it is pretty tasty.  I bet it will be even better after it sits in the fridge for an hour or two.  I used roasted sesame tahini because I really like the depth of flavor. If you can’t find the roasted variety, regular tahini will work just as well.

1 8 oz zucchini, chopped
chopped greens from two scallions
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice, or more to taste
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/3 cup tahini
1 tablespoon garlic oil

pine nuts and smoked paprika to top

Combine first 6 ingredients in a blender or food processor and  puree.  Empty into a shallow bowl and sprinkle smoked paprika and pine nuts over the top to serve.

Leave a Reply

