Roasted Celery Root and Kumquats

I downloaded  The Monash University Low FODMAP app to my phone and am finding it very handy, though a bit pricey for an app.  It told me that even though celery is high in polyols that celery root (celeriac) is safe for a low FODMAP diet. So when I encountered some celery root at the grocery store, I bought one to try.  I also bought a $1 worth of kumquats to try and came up with this brilliant combination.  I served it with some venison tenderloin that I seared in clarified butter and sprinkled with the chili lemon zest salt.

1 celery root, peeled and cut into 1 inch cubes
1 cup whole kumquats
1 tablespoon Lemon Fennel Chili Salt
2 tablespoons olive oil

Preheat oven to 400F.  In a heavy bottom roasting pan, toss celery root with 1 tablespoon of olive oil.  Roast in preheated oven for 15 – 20 minutes, until cubes are sizzling and starting to brown, stir.  Toss kumquats with remaining olive oil and add to roasting pan.  Roast another 15 – 20 minutes until everything is soft and well browned.  Remove from oven and sprinkle with the Lemon Fennel Chili Salt. Serve hot.

Leave a Reply

