Three Alarm Chili

Just in time for Superbowl Sunday!

Chili used to be one of my go-to weeknight winter suppers.  I made it with plenty of onions, garlic, beans, and canned tomatoes which means that when I had a bowl of chili, I had a bowl of FODMAPs.   Since the weather has been so cold, I’ve really been missing this favorite lately.  This recipe is very meat-heavy and rich.  A little bit goes a long way.  If made without the hominy, it would be a good topping for nachos or a baked potato.

Be sure to READ LABELS when buying chili powder.  The regular chili powder available in most supermarkets is a blend of chiles, garlic, onion, and other spices.  Avoid this!  You want to find pure New Mexico (sometimes called Chimayo) chili powder.  The amount of chiles and chili powder you use is a matter of taste.  Though I often like to use cumin in my cooking, I’ve never been a fan of it in chili.  Feel free to add it if you wish.

This dish is best if made a day before you plan to eat it so that the flavors can really develop.  I like my chili spicy so I use the larger amounts of spices and peppers.

3 slices smokey, thick-cut bacon, chopped
1 half inch thick slice onion
2 garlic cloves, halved
2 lbs. lean ground beef or bison
1 – 2 tablespoons New Mexico chili powder
1 – 2 canned chipotle chiles in adobo
1 – 2 fresh jalepeno peppers, minced
1 can hominy, drained
salt and pepper

For toppings:

chopped scallion greens
minced cilantro
shredded cheddar cheese
reserved, cooked bacon

And for your FODMAP eaters:

chopped red onion
roasted garlic cloves
sour cream

Saute the bacon over medium heat in a large saucepan until rendered and crisp.  Remove bacon with a slotted spoon and reserve. Put the onion and garlic in the pan and cook in the bacon fat over low heat until they are very soft and lightly browned.  Remove from the pan and discard, leaving the fat in the pan.  Add the meat, jalapenos, chipotles, and chili powder to the pan and cook over medium heat until the jalapenos are soft and the meat is thoroughly browned.  Add the drained hominy and cook the mixture, covered, over very low heat for 45 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes or so.  If the mixture seems dry, add a little water.  When done, adjust seasoning with salt and pepper; refrigerate the chili for 24 hours.. Reheat and serve with toppings.

7 responses

    • Joy, The onions and garlic are fried in the oil and then removed and discarded. The flavor compounds are not the same as the FODMAP compounds, so you get some of the flavor and little of the FODMAPs. This technique is recommended by nutritionists who advise on low FODMAP diets.

    • LOVE your blog! I’m a low FODMAPs blogger too, and a dietitian. This is great to know you have some good recipes here. I agree with Joy below thoughy, why the garlic and onion?? Do you remove them after cooking, I assume?
      Keep up the great work!

      • Yeah, I apparently did not make that clear enough. The garlic and onion get removed from the pan. I set aside some chopped raw onion and some roasted garlic cloves for the FODMAP eaters in my life.

    • Karen, canned chipotle does have a little onion and garlic. Scraping the adobo sauce off of the chiles would be one way to reduce the FODMAP load. I figure it’s just adding a miniscule amount anyway, so I don’t worry about it. But if it is a problem for some folks, you could always buy dried chipotle peppers at a place that sells Mexican ingredients. Reconstitute the dried chiles in hot water and then puree them. Voila, chipotle without the adobo! OH AND, I just remembered, I’ve also seen dried chipotle chile powder in a can. That would be perfect.

Leave a Reply

