Strawberry Rhubarb Crisp

It’s rhubarb season! Fresh rhubarb is available in the supermarket.

When I was a teenager I used to do a lot of babysitting for a neighbor.  Every spring she would bake me a strawberry rhubarb pie that I didn’t have to share with anyone! Strawberry rhubarb is still one of my favorite flavors.  I’m too lazy to make a pie crust right now, so I whipped up this dish instead.

1 lb. strawberries, hulled and halved
1 1/2 lbs rhubarb, diced
1/2 cup sugar
1 Tablespoon corn starch
1 Tablespoon grated fresh ginger

For the topping:

3/4 cup gluten free flour (I use King Arthur brand)
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
6 Tablespoons butter
1/2 cup oats
1/2 cup chopped nuts (I use hazelnuts)
1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

Preheat oven to 375F; grease a shallow casserole or baking dish.  Combine fruit, sugar, corn starch and ginger and mix thoroughly.  Empty into baking dish.

Stir together the flour, salt, and the sugar.  Add the butter and cut into the flour mixture using a pastry cutter or whirl it around in a food processor for a few pulses.  Stir in the remaining topping ingredients.  Sprinkle the topping over the fruit. Bake for approximately 45 minutes until the fruit is bubbling and the topping is browned.  Remove from the oven and let cool until almost room temperature before serving.

Leave a Reply

