Spicy Slaw

I made the Aloha Skewers the other day, substituting shrimp for chicken. They were fantastic. I served this slaw alongside.

4 cups thinly sliced cabbage (Napa or regular)
1 serrano chile, finely minced
1 bunch scallions, green parts only, chopped
1/2 cup minced fresh cilantro

1/4 cup white wine vinegar
2 teaspoons sugar
1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger
2 tablespoons vegetable oil

Toss together the first four ingredients. To make the dressing, whisk together the next four ingredients in a separate bowl. Combine the dressing with the salad, add a little salt to taste, and let sit 10 minutes before serving.

3 responses

    • Terri,
      Believe me, I’m as surprised as anyone. The Low FODMAP Diet app from Monash University indicates that common cabbage, Brussels sprouts, broccoli, and bok choy are all ok in moderate amounts on a low FODMAP diet. Avoid savoy cabbage. The app says about common green cabbage that “Large servings (>1 cup) contain moderate amounts of the Polyol-sorbitol, intake should be limited if you malabsorb sorbitol.” So, a serving size of less than one cup is fine. I don’t know about you, but a cup of slaw would be a bit much for me. My serving size is approximately 1/2 cup and I suffered no ill effects.

      • Thank you very much! I have the “Low FODMaP IBS Diet” app and it just says “Not Friendly” so I have not even tried. I know I can eat maybe 1/2 cup of broccoli with no problem, but was afraid to try cabbage, esp. raw as in cole slaw.

Leave a Reply

