Chicken Patties and Stir Fried Cabbage

I can’t believe it’s been 3 months since I last posted anything. Winter got me down and I’ve been in a slump! I was inspired recently by a sale on ground chicken at my local supermarket. I had never tried ground chicken in anything before so I gambled and bought 4 packages.  So far, I’ve not been disappointed. These chicken patties remind me of the filling inside a steamed dumpling.

The raw chicken mixture is very wet and sticky. To form patties, I oiled a sheet of aluminum foil and my hands. I formed the patties with oiled hands and set them on the oiled foil until it was time to cook. That helped.

For patties:

1 lb. ground chicken
1 tablespoon soy sauce (wheat free)
3 finely minced scallions, green parts only
1 tablespoon freshly grated ginger root
1 teaspoon freshly ground Szechuan peppercorns
1 teaspoon kosher salt
vegetable oil for frying

For cabbage:

1 small head Napa cabbage, sliced thinly
1 tablespoon sesame seeds, preferably toasted
1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil
vegetable oil for frying

For the patties, mix together the chicken, scallions, ginger, pepper, and salt. If you have time, put it in the fridge and let it sit for an hour. Form the mixture into 4 patties like you would for a hamburger. To cook, heat a few tablespoons of vegetable in a large skillet over high heat until shimmering and about to start smoking.  Carefully place the patties in the pan, turn the flame down to medium, and let sit undisturbed for 5 minutes. Flip the patties over and let cook for another 5 minutes. Remove from the pan to a plate and set aside, covered to keep warm. Put another tablespoon of vegetable oil in the pan and turn the heat to high. Add the cabbage and stir-fry for a few minutes until it reaches your desired level of done. Scrape up the brown bits from the bottom of the pan as the cabbage cooks. When finished, remove from heat, stir in the sesame seeds and oil, and adjust seasoning if necessary. Place a helping of cabbage on a plate and top with a patty. Serve.

Leave a Reply

